Home > Uncategorized > Bradley’s Speakers

Bradley’s Speakers


High precision two-way monitors

Hello, all! Here is my design for a pair of two-way monitors for pairing with my existing SVS subwoofer. I only needed these boxes to stay flat down to the the subwoofer crossover point (90Hz), so I focused moreso on selecting high quality drivers and a solid construction. Though I did run into the issue of my tweeters performing significantly worse than specification, the end result is still a very responsive and detailed monitor.

Construction: In order to combat box resonance, I created a two-material design. The box has an interior layer of 1/2″ OSB and an external layer of 3/4″ MDF.

Tweeters: ScanSpeak Illuminator d3004/6620-00

Woofers: ScanSpeak Revelator 18w/4531-g00

Goals

  • Flat response
  • Wide, deep, detailed soundstage
  • Minimal distortion

Specifications

  • +/- 2.5dB from 70Hz – 20kHz
  • +/- 1.5dB from 180Hz-20kHz
  • Only 3 peaks above -50dB distortion (2nd and 3rd order) from 70Hz to 20kHz at 83dB
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment